EU to United States: Sorry, You're Not Welcome Here

Publish date:
Video Duration:

America, the epicenter of the coronavirus pandemic, is currently barred from EU nations. 

On Tuesday, the EU's 27 members put out the list of 14 countries to which they are opening the borders starting July 1. 

Interestingly, big names like America, Brazil, Italy, France and others did not make it to the list.

However, China, the country from which the coronavirus emerged for the first time, will be allowed to enter the EU provided they open its border to EU citizens.

The EU said that the list is based on ‘epidemiological criteria’ and the council recommendation is ‘not a legally binding instrument.'

"The authorities of the member states remain responsible for implementing the content of the recommendation," the statement read." They may, in full transparency, lift only progressively travel restrictions towards countries listed."

The Council also said that these people are exempted from the restrictions:

  • EU citizens and their family members
  • long-term EU residents and their family members
  • travelers with an essential function or need, as listed in the Recommendation.

People might be wondering whether the travel restriction applies to the UK nationals, too. 

The council said that U.K. nationals will be 'treated in the same way as EU citizens until the end of the Brexit transition period (31.12.2020).' 

"Therefore, during that time UK nationals and their family members are exempt from the temporary travel restriction," their statement read.

The Council will be updating the list every two weeks. 

Watch the video above to find out which 14 countries made it to to this.

Watch More of the Latest Videos on TheStreet and Jim Cramer