Media General, Inc. ("Media General;" NYSE: MEG), one of the nation's largest local media companies, today announced that 17 of its television stations have won 22 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association ("RTDNA"). Media General's television stations were distinguished with the following honors:

KXAN-TV (Austin, TX): "Broadcast Affiliated Website"WIAT-TV (Birmingham, AL): "Use of Video"WOOD-TV (Grand Rapids, MI): "Video Breaking News Coverage"WNCN-TV (Raleigh, NC): "Video Breaking News Coverage"WTNH-TV (New Haven, CT): "Video Reporting: Hard News"KSNW-TV (Wichita, KS): "Broadcast Affiliated Website"WLNS-TV (Lansing, MI): "Broadcast Affiliated Website," Video News Series" and "Video Newscast"WWLP-TV (Springfield, MA): "Broadcast Affiliated Website"WSAV-TV (Savannah, GA): "Use of Video," "Video Continuing Coverage" and "Video Newscast"KELO-TV (Sioux Falls, SD): "Video Breaking News Coverage"WJHL-TV (Johnson City, TN): "Video Continuing Coverage" and "Video Investigative Reporting"WPRI-TV (Providence, RI): "Video Feature Reporting"KHON-TV (Honolulu, HI): "Video News Documentary"WJBF-TV (Augusta, GA): "Video News Documentary"WRIC-TV (Richmond, VA): "Video Newscast"WBTW-TV (Myrtle Beach, SC): "Video Reporting: Hard News"WANE-TV (Ft. Wayne, IN): "Writing"

RTDNA reported that it had received more than 4,300 entries during the 2016 awards season, setting an all-time record for the fourth year in a row. All regional award winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May and announced in June. A complete list of the 2016 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners and links to all of the winning reports can be found on the RTDNA's website at

"I congratulate all of our stations for winning some of the most prestigious honors in our profession," said Vincent L. Sadusky, President and Chief Executive Officer, Media General. "Outstanding journalism is our hallmark and distinguishes Media General's stations from others in our local markets."

The Murrow Awards, presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association, reward the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession. Radio, television and online news managers from markets across the country judged the entries from 14 regions across the United States and from international entrants across the globe. RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Murrow Awards since 1971.

About Media General

Media General is one of the nation's largest local media companies that operates or services 71 television stations in 48 markets. Our robust portfolio of broadcast, digital and mobile products informs and engages 23% of U.S. TV households and 43% of the U.S. Internet audience.

Media General has one of the industry's largest and most diverse digital media businesses that includes Federated Media, HYFN and Dedicated Media. With unmatched local-to-national reach and integrated marketing solutions, Media General is a one-stop-shop for agencies and brands that want to effectively and efficiently reach their target audiences across all screens.

Media General trades on the NYSE under the symbol "MEG."

View source version on

Copyright Business Wire 2010