Ten Media General TV Stations Earn 19 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Media General, Inc. (NYSE: MEG), a local broadcast television and digital media company, said that 10 of its television stations were recognized with 19 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for outstanding achievements in electronic journalism, as announced today by the Radio Television Digital News Association. Five Media General stations won the prestigious Best Newscast Award. WSAV (Savannah, Ga.) won five awards including Overall Excellence for the sixth time in seven years.

“I congratulate all of our stations winning Regional Edward R. Murrow awards today. They make us very proud,” said George L. Mahoney, president and chief executive officer. “Their excellent work exemplifies Media General’s commitment to quality, local journalism and strong investigative reporting, distinguishing our stations in their markets. Our news teams never hesitate to go after the tough stories, telling them with passion and poignancy and spotlighting issues that matter to their communities, building our audience, ratings and shareholder value.”

“These are prestigious and well-deserved awards to be celebrated,” said Donna M. Reed, Media General’s vice president, content. “The stations’ commitment to serving their communities with strong local reporting is inspiring. Congratulations to all.”

The Radio Television Digital News Association presented the following 2014 regional Edward R. Murrow awards to Media General television stations:

Region 4 (Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin)

Small Market : KELO, Sioux Falls, SD, Newscast: KELOLAND This Morning

Region 5 (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska)

Small Market : KWQC, Davenport, IA, Newscast: Prophetstown Fire

Region 8 (Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia)

Small Market : WATE, Knoxville, TN, Newscast: 6 News at 11

Large Market : WKRN, Nashville, TN, 2 Awards - Newscast: News 2 This Morning and Breaking News: Nashville Flooding

Large Market : WSPA, Greenville-Spartanburg, SC, Website: WSPA.com

Region 9 (Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi)

Small Market : WKRG, Mobile, AL-Pensacola, FL, Newscast: Crippled Cruise Ship

Large Market : WVTM, Birmingham, AL, 2 Awards - Investigative Reporting: Breaking the Silence and News Documentary: Black History Special

Region 10 (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont)

Small Market : WJAR, Providence, RI-New Bedford, MA, 3 Awards - Breaking News: Boston Marathon Bombings, Investigative Reporting: Priest Sex Abuse Letters and Website: Turnto10.com

Region 12 (Delaware, DC, Maryland, Virginia)

Small Market : WRIC, Richmond-Petersburg, VA, 2 Awards - News Series: The SCC Files and Reporting - Hard News: The Cancer Con

Region 13 (Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands)

Small Market : WSAV, Savannah, GA, 5 Awards - Overall Excellence, Newscast: Fox News at 10, Breaking News: Police Chief Retirement, Continuing Coverage: Affordable Health Care, Investigative Reporting: Congressional Gift Travel and Use of Sound/Video: Police Memorial

The Murrow Awards, presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association, reward the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession. Radio, television and online news managers from markets across the country judged the entries from 14 regions across the United States and from international entrants from across the globe. RTNDA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Murrow Awards since 1971. Regional award winners automatically compete for the national Edward R. Murrow Awards.

If you liked this article you might like

Bids in Groundbreaking Wireless Spectrum Auction Top $18 Billion

Why It Might Be Time for Time Inc. to Sell Itself

Buffett, Once Bitten, Is No Longer Shy When It Comes to Airlines

Is Trump a Bad Omen or Simply a Black Swan for TV Political Advertising?

The 'Trump Effect' Hits TV Broadcasters