UPS Honors South Carolina Drivers For 25 Years Of Safe Driving

UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 29 elite drivers from South Carolina are among 1,519 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

South Carolina boasts 129 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 3,644 years of accident-free driving. Hubert Crisp Jr. of Greenville is the state’s senior safe driver, with 43 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 1,555 total UPS drivers in South Carolina.

Globally, 7,221 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up over 198,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Dwayne Meeks, president, UPS South Atlantic District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 51 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of the Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 45 years of safe driving. Forty others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2013 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company’s defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS’s commitment to safety is available at

A complete list by state of new Circle of Honor inductees, infographic and a logo can be found at

UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following is a list of local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at .

Following is a list of South Carolina drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.
Driver     Hometown     UPS Work Location
Scott Anderson     Rock Hill     Charlotte Hub
Michael Anderson     Effingham     Florence Center
Alfred Antrum     Columbia     Columbia Hub
Jack Bolt     Rock Hill     Rock Hill Center
Donald Bouler     Lancaster     Lancaster
James Canty     Rock Hill     Rock Hill Center
Daniel Carroll     Travelers Rest     Greenville
Brian Clardy     Liberty     Greenville
Mike Dimery     Chesnee     Spartanburg Center
Phillip Eller     Lancaster     Charlotte Hub
William Enzor Jr     Summerton     Columbia Hub
Terry Gaffney     Inman     Greenville
Jerome Graham     Darlington     Columbia Hub
Richy Harris     Summerville     Summerville Center
John Hart     Florence     Florence Center
John Hill     Charleston     Columbia Hub
Michael Holmes     St Helena Island     Hilton Head
Robert Huggins     Hemingway     Myrtle Beach Center
Kerwin Johnson     Anderson     Anderson Center
John Lorick Jr     Irmo     Columbia Hub
Edward Martin     Honea Path     Spartanburg Center
Herman Massey     Spartanburg     Spartanburg Center
Mark Matthews     Easley     Greenville
Ronald McManus     Lexington     Columbia Hub
Robert Mehr     North Charleston     Summerville Center
Cynthia Metze     Columbia     Columbia Hub
Randall Smith     Chesnee     Spartanburg Center
Emory Stephens     Florence     Columbia Hub
Arthur Stubbs III     Mt. Pleasant     Charleston Center

Copyright Business Wire 2010