UPS Honors Wisconsin Drivers For 25 Years Of Safe Driving

UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 30 elite drivers from Wisconsin are among 1,519 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Wisconsin boasts 124 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 3,402 years of accident-free driving. Thomas Moench of Janesville is the state’s senior safe driver, with 37 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 1,653 total UPS drivers in Wisconsin.

Globally, 7,221 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up over 198,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Louis Rivieccio, president, UPS Northern Plains District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 51 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of the Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 45 years of safe driving. Forty others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2013 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company’s defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS’s commitment to safety is available at

A complete list by state of new Circle of Honor inductees, infographic and a logo can be found at

UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following is a list of local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at .

Following is a list of Circle of Honor drivers in Wisconsin.
Driver   Hometown   UPS Work Location
John Altman   Neenah   Oshkosh
Jere Brace   New Berlin   Oak Creek
Richard Courtney   Pulaski   Bayview Center
Curtis Eckelberg   West Salem   La Crosse
Nelson Flood   Pleasant Prairie   Palatine
Randall Gardner   Green Bay   Green Bay
Victor Gulla   Appleton   Oshkosh
Michael Herring   Oshkosh   Oshkosh
Michael Herrmann   Union Grove   Oak Creek
Larry Hertel   Menomonee Falls   Oak Creek
Patrick Hinnendael   Green Bay   Bayview Center
John Johnstone   Wausau   Oshkosh
Robert Krause   Berlin   Oshkosh
David Leonsteiner   Watertown   Watertown
Michael Lieck   Waunakee   Middleton Center
Andrew Limpel   Lodi   Middleton Center
Steven Lowis   Marinette   Marinette
Thomas Mauger   Barneveld   Middleton Center
David Mueller   Plymouth   Oshkosh
Steven Nicholls   Fennimore   Dodgeville
Gary Pagelow   Madison   Madison
David Palmer   Sheboygan   Oshkosh
Steven Quade   Rhinelander   Rhinelander
Joseph Schwabe   Muskego   Elm Grove
Timothy Schwellenbach   Bristol   Northbrook
Gary Shurbert   Plover   Stevens Point Hub
Robert Stelloh   Onalaska   La Crosse
Joseph Studinski   Stevens Point   Stevens Point Hub
John Susa   Eleva   Eau Claire Center
Richard Wolfe   West Salem   La Crosse

Copyright Business Wire 2010