UPS Honors Minnesota Drivers For 25 Years Of Safe Driving

UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 25 elite drivers from Minnesota are among 1,519 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Minnesota boasts 152 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 4,358 years of accident-free driving. Raymond Welk of Nowthen is the state’s senior safe driver, with 43 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 1,684 total UPS drivers in Minnesota.

Globally, 7,221 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up over 198,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Louis Rivieccio, president, UPS Northern Plains District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 51 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of the Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 45 years of safe driving. Forty others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2013 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company’s defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS’s commitment to safety is available at

A complete list by state of new Circle of Honor inductees, infographic and a logo can be found at

UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following is a list of local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at .

Following is a list of Minnesota drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.
Driver         Hometown         UPS Work Location
Michael Adams         Lacrescent         La Crosse
Pat Anderson         Coon Rapids         Maple Grove
Steven Bergh         Fergus Falls         Fergus Falls
Paul Bluhm         Delano         Maple Grove
Michael Callahan         Rush City         Isanti
Edward Delander         St Croix Beach         St. Paul Hub
Dean Dressler         Big Lake         Maple Grove
Mark Gilmer         Andover         Isanti
Jon Haecherl         Tracy         Slayton
Frances Haubrich         Grand Rapids         Gunn (Grand Rapids)
Doran Johnson         St Paul         St. Paul Hub
Jerry Knutson         Farmington         St. Paul Hub
John Mack         Oakdale         Minneapolis
Brian Olson         Granite Falls         Granite Falls
Richard Pietruszewski         Albertville         Maple Grove
Alfred Potvien         Duluth         Duluth
Richard Radermacher         Elk River         Maple Grove
Douglas Smith         Eagan         St. Paul Hub
Donald Sorenson         Blaine         Minneapolis
Richard Spade         Linwood Twp         St. Paul Hub
Steven Stang         Paynesville         Willmar
Daniel Tetrick         Alexandria         Alexandria
Barry Towle         Inver Grove Heights         St. Paul Hub
Timothy Walter         Roseville         Minneapolis
Michael Zimny         Rochester         Rochester

Copyright Business Wire 2010