UPS Honors Indiana Drivers For 25 Years Of Safe Driving

UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 38 elite drivers from Indiana are among 1,519 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Indiana boasts 183 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 5,183 years of accident-free driving. Horace Coleman of Indianapolis is the state’s senior safe driver, with 41 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 2,232 total UPS drivers in Indiana.

Globally, 7,221 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up over 198,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Zachary Scott, president, UPS Ohio Valley District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 51 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 45 years of safe driving. Forty others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2013 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company’s defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS’s commitment to safety is available at

A complete list by state of new Circle of Honor inductees, infographic and a logo can be found at

UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following is a list of local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at

Following is a list of Indiana drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.
Driver   Hometown   UPS Work Location
Brian Birky   Valparaiso   Tri-City
Steven Bridges   Coatesville   Indianapolis
Alan Carl   Schererville   Hodgkins, IL
Terry Carter   Pittsboro   Indianapolis
Bradford Chitty   Elletsville   Bloomington
Jack Dawalt   Carmel   Marion
James Fabian   Auburn   Fort Wayne
Mark Feller   LaGrange   Waterloo
Norman Fick   Fort Wayne   Fort Wayne
James French   Reelsville   Indianapolis
Michael Gregg   Greenwood   Indianapolis
Stephen Guntle   Selma   Muncie
Doug Harrison   Fishers   Castleton
John Hudson Jr.   Indianapolis   Indianapolis
Mark Imus   Osceola   Elkhart
William Jacobs   Highland   Harvey
Galka James   Hobart   Chicago, IL
Kevin Kern   Griffith   Chicago, IL
Chris Kmiecik   Michigan City   Tri-City
Kevin Krupski   New Albany   Clarksville
Keilman Larry   Crown Point   Chicago, IL
Donald Leitgabel   Terre Haute   Terra Haute
Rodney May   Haubstadt   Evansville
Kent McKinney   Fort Wayne   Fort Wayne
Kevin Merriman   Huntertown   Fort Wayne
Jeffrey Mullins   Indianapolis   Castleton
William Nelson   Speedway   Indianapolis
Alan Palmer   LaPorte   Tri-City
James Pieratt   Zionsville   Castleton
Ronald Reynolds   Spencer   Bloomington
Lonnie Rodgers   Columbus   Columbus
Gregory Schey   Fort Wayne   Fort Wayne
Raleigh Swango   North Salem  

Steven Vermejan   Munster   Chicago, IL
Stephen White   Fort Wayne  

Robert Wiseman   Indianapolis   Indianapolis

Copyright Business Wire 2010