UPS Honors Michigan Drivers For 25 Years Of Safe Driving

UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 52 elite drivers from Michigan are among 1,519 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Michigan boasts 236 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 6,538 years of accident-free driving. Thomas Camp of Livonia is the state’s senior safe driver, with 51 years of accident-free driving under his belt, ranking him the safest driver among UPS’s 102,000 drivers. There are 2,639 total UPS drivers in Michigan.

Globally, 7,221 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up over 198,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Stefan Wilson, president, UPS Great Lakes District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 51 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of the Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 45 years of safe driving. Forty others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2013 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company’s defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS’s commitment to safety is available at

A complete list by state of new Circle of Honor inductees, infographic and a logo can be found at

UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following is a list of local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at .

Following is a list of Michigan drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.
Driver   Hometown   UPS Work Location
Michael Bare   Portage   Kalamazoo
Brian Blake   Troy   Madison Heights
Tim Borowicz   Cheboygan   Petoskey
Richard Breidenbach   Saginaw   Saginaw
Charles Brooks   Sterling Heights   Madison Heights
Anthony Brown   Lowell   Grand Rapids
Kevin Chambers   Dearborn Heights   Livonia
Panagiotis Chonacas   Livonia   Livonia
Robert Chopp II   Lawton   Kalamazoo
Jeffrey Cousins   Mason   Lansing
David Cummings   W Bloomfield   Pontiac
Alan Dechow   Milford   Wixom
Jeffrey Dreher   Portage   Kalamazoo
Peter Eschker   Port Huron   Port Huron
Thomas Forgiel   Redford   Livonia
John Fox   Battle Creek   Battle Creek
Danny Francis   Orion   Pontiac
Jeffrey Gabler   Almont   Madison Heights
Michael Henry   Port Huron   Port Huron
Jeffery Jewell   Swartz Creek   Flint
Robert Jones   Flushing   Flint
James Kennard   Hillman   Alpena
Gary Kocsis   Garden City   Livonia
Patricia Kreason   Troy   Madison Heights
Theodore Lawrence   Battle Creek   Battle Creek
Jonathan Lyons II   Swartz Creek   Flint
Jerome Malczynski   Madison Hgts   Madison Heights
Andrew Marchig   Clio   Grand Rapids
John McFarlane   Holland   Grand Rapids
Joseph Miles   Morley   Grand Rapids
Michael Mulligan   South Lyon   Wixom
Michael Natzel   Novi   Madison Heights
Michael Nolan   Waterford   Wixom
Stephen Ogrodzinski   Lowell   Grand Rapids
Karl Ott   E Lansing   Lansing
Kenneth Pasciak   Fraser   Madison Heights
Duane Pearson   Detroit   Cicotte
Brian Perkins   Herron   Alpena
Frederick Podvin   Ortonville   Madison Heights
Joseph Ruttinger   Tecumseh   Ypsilanti
Paul Schmidt   Haslett   Lansing
James Schneider   Hartland   Wixom
Thomas Schrein   Lambertville   Toledo
John Schuerman   Shelby Town Ship   Madison Heights
Patrick Senters   Grand Blanc   Grand Rapids
Bruce Sheridan Jr   Clarkston   Madison Heights
Deborah Standerfer   Troy   Madison Heights
Parker Stevens   Traverse City   Traverse City
Timothy Swick   Rosenville   Madison Heights
Connie Wallace   Jackson   Jackson
Leslie Walters   West Branch   West Branch
Jay Webber   Mattawan   Kalamazoo
Kenneth Williams   Rochester Hills   Woodbridge
Tim Winter   West Branch   West Branch
Dean Wolverton   Mason   Lansing

Copyright Business Wire 2010