UPS Honors Massachusetts Drivers For 25 Years Of Safe Driving

UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 25 elite drivers from Massachusetts are among 1,519 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Massachusetts boasts 103 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 2,840 years of accident-free driving. Ronald Clark of Chicopee and Paul Daigneault Jr are the state’s senior safe drivers, each with 36 years of accident-free driving under their belts. There are 2,276 total UPS drivers in Massachusetts.

Globally, 7,221 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up over 198,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 19 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Ivy Brown, president, UPS Northeast District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 51 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of the Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 45 years of safe driving. Forty others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2013 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company’s defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS’s commitment to safety is available at

A complete list by state of new Circle of Honor inductees, infographic and a logo can be found at

UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following is a list of local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at .

Following is a list of Massachusetts drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.
Driver       Hometown               UPS Work Location            
Robert Bean       Medford               Boston
Judith Bourgeois       Worcester               Chelmsford
Brian Brown       Ipswich               Lynnfield
Richard Carbonara       Brockton               Norwood
Brian Carville       Lancaster               Shrewsbury
Christopher Collins       Norwood               Norwood
Dean Constantilos       Williamsburg               South Deerfield
Jerold Devine       Lynn               Lynnfield
Wayne Falconer       Hyde Park               Boston
Daniel Ferioli       Springfield               W Springfield
James Flaherty       Harvard               Chelmsford
Dennis Goulart       Mattapoisett               Dartmouth
Joseph Hurst       Chicopee               W Springfield
Robert Introini       Mansfield               Norwood
Philip Leon       Berkshire               Pittsfield
Thomas Marchessault       Mattapoisett               Dartmouth
Michael Matte       Dracut               Chelmsford
Brian McCann       Plymouth               Sagamore Beach
Bruce Mini       Groveland               Lynnfield, MA Feeders
Scott Moller       Chicopee               Shrewsbury
John Reardon       Worcester               Shrewsbury
Stephen Solombrino       Wilmington               Lynnfield, MA Feeders
Thomas Spellman       Bourne               Sagamore Beach
Adam Turok       Stoughton               Brockton
John Zuhusky       South Hadley               W Springfield

Copyright Business Wire 2010