USMD Holdings, Inc. ( NASDAQ: USMD), a physician-led integrated healthcare system, announced today that two new physicians—Sesha Uppalapati, M.D. and Shailendra Chavda, M.D.—have joined USMD Affiliated Services. These new physicians have been added to respond to the growing healthcare and patient needs of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex.

Drs. Uppalapati and Chavda increase the number of USMD primary care physicians serving seniors and accepting Medicare patients to 92. With Texas being home to 5.2 million baby boomers that will be at least 65 years of age by 2030, adding these physicians ensures that USMD is able to provide comprehensive healthcare to this age group.

“I’m excited to add Dr. Uppalapati and Dr. Chavda to USMD,” said John House, M.D., chairman and chief executive officer of USMD Holdings. “Our goal is to provide all of our patients, from babies to senior citizens, with the most high-quality healthcare. Adding these physicians will allow USMD to continue to meet the needs of our expanding patient base, while continuing to provide each patient with the care and attention they deserve.”

Dr. Uppalapati joins USMD at its Mid Cities Clinic. She completed her fellowship in hepatology at the University of Medicine and Dentistry in Newark, N.J., and her residency in internal medicine at St. Luke’s Hospital in Bethlehem, Pa.

Dr. Chavda joins USMD at its Las Colinas Clinic. He completed his residency in internal medicine at Illinois Masonic Medical Center in Chicago.

About USMD Holdings, Inc.

USMD is a publicly held (NASDAQ: USMD), physician-led, integrated healthcare system committed to exemplary patient care. Headquartered in Irving, Texas, USMD serves the Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area with more than 250 physicians and associate practitioners, and provides healthcare services to patients in just under 20 different specialties at its two hospitals, nine cancer treatment centers and nearly 70 physician clinics, many of which are multi-specialty. For more information about USMD, visit

Copyright Business Wire 2010