SC Regulatory Task Force Members Named


COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) â¿¿ Gov. Nikki Haley announced appointees Friday to a group she's asked to review regulations in South Carolina to determine which can be thrown out or changed.

Haley's office told The Associated Press she appointed Mark Lutz of Mount Pleasant to lead the task force she created by executive order last month. Lutz, vice president of a Massachusetts-based multimedia production company, is also among Haley's appointees to the Department of Health and Environment Control board.

Haley made six other appointments with suggestions from the fields they are representing, including Coastal Conservation League founder Dana Beach, who said last month he wanted a spot on the panel.

Legislative appointments include Sen. Tom Davis, R-Beaufort; Sen. Brad Hutto, D-Orangeburg; and Rep. Eric Bedingfield, R-Mauldin. Haley's office is awaiting an appointment by the House minority leader.

The 11-member group will hold its first meeting next month. It has until mid-November to issue its report to the Legislature.

Other appointments:

â¿¿Dan Dennis represents small businesses. He owns Columbia-based engineering and construction management firm Dennis Corp., as well as Dennis Creek Farms, a timber and fruit farm in Fairfield County.

â¿¿Phil Waddell represents the state Chamber of Commerce. The retired United Parcel Service executive co-owns five businesses, including Chocolate Nirvana and The Box Lunch Company in Columbia.

â¿¿Charles "Buddy" Young represents the National Federation of Independent Business. The former fighter pilot owns West Columbia-based motorcoach tour company Capitol Bus Lines.

â¿¿Ralph "Nick" Odom represents the state Manufacturers Alliance. He is a longtime executive with Springs Global US, the Fort Mill-based textile company.

â¿¿Patrick Caster represents the health care industry. He is chief administrative officer at Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System, as well as president and CEO of Regional Health Plus.

Haley first announced her plans to create a regulatory review task force in her State of the State address in January. It is separate from the ongoing work of the Small Business Regulatory Review Committee, an 11-member panel of business owners created in 2004 and housed in the Commerce Department.

Copyright 2011 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.