UPS Honors Missouri Drivers For 25 Years Of Safe Driving

UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 31 elite drivers from Missouri are among 1,283 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Missouri boasts 215 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 6,270 years of accident-free driving. William Glenn of St. Louis and Harold Pertain Jr. of Liberty are the state’s senior safe drivers, with 40 years each of accident-free driving under their belts. There are 1,514 total UPS drivers in Missouri.

Globally, 6,486 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up 178,663 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers, or the equivalent of circling the earth more than 212,000 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Judith Henry, president, UPS Central Plains District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 50 years of driving without an accident. Thomas Santocke of Dearborn, Mich., and Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., are next in line with 44 years each of safe driving. Thirty-seven others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2012 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company’s defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS’s commitment to safety is available at

UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at .

Following is a list of Missouri drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Driver     Hometown     UPS Work Location
Robert Allison     Kansas City     Kansas City
Elijah Blackwell     Bridgeton     Earth City
David Bockius     Affton     St. Louis
Charles Cartella     Kearney     Kansas City
Gordon Cates     St. Charles     Earth City
Gilbert Clark     Florissant     St. Louis
Robin Collins     Willow Springs     Willow Springs
Randy Fortner     Joplin     Joplin
Steven Garner     Hayti     Hayti
Blaine Goddard     Kansas City     Kansas City
Robert Hardin     Saint Peters     Earth City
Mark Harvath     Manchester     Earth City
David Hays     Grain Valley     Lenexa
Randall Leclere     Parkville     Lenexa
John Lehmen     Freeburg     Jefferson City
Winfried Letendre     Festus     Crystal City
Darren Lindsey     Joplin     Springfield (Metro Bldg.)
Steven Lombardo     Grain Valley     Kansas City
Cornelius Love Jr     St Louis     Earth City
Bryan Macy     Joplin     Joplin
Brian Melia     Springfield     Springfield (Ext.)
Donald Meyer     Bowling Green     Palmyra
Timothy Ramirez     Kansas City     Kansas City
Brian Reese     Kansas City     Kansas City
Randall Rehkop     Arnold     Earth City
Eric Schnitzler     Wentzville     Earth City
Deron Shocklee     Troy     Earth City
John Sokolich     St Louis     St. Louis
Jeffry Stone     Otterville     Sedalia
Glen Wadley Jr     Saint Peters     Earth City
Edward Warczakoski     Kansas City     Lenexa

Copyright Business Wire 2010