New York Community Bancorp, Inc. (NYSE: NYB) (the “Company”) today announced the results of its Annual Meeting of Shareholders, held earlier in the day in Flushing, New York.

Shareholders of the Company approved each of the four proposals submitted for their consideration, including the re-election of four nominees to the Board of Directors: Maureen E. Clancy; Hanif “Wally” Dahya; James J. O’Donovan; and Joseph R. Ficalora, the Company’s president and chief executive officer. Each of the nominees was elected to serve a three-year term of office.

Also approved by the Company’s shareholders were proposals calling for the adoption of the Company’s 2012 Stock Incentive Plan; the ratification of the appointment of KPMG LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for 2012; and the initiation of the appropriate process to amend the Company’s Bylaws to provide that director nominees be elected by the affirmative vote of the majority of votes cast at an annual meeting of shareholders in uncontested elections.

About New York Community Bancorp, Inc.

With assets of $43.0 billion at March 31, 2012, New York Community Bancorp, Inc. is the 21st largest bank holding company in the nation and a leading producer of multi-family mortgage loans in New York City, with an emphasis on apartment buildings that feature below-market rents. The Company has two bank subsidiaries: New York Community Bank, a thrift with more than 240 branches serving customers throughout Metro New York, New Jersey, Ohio, Florida, and Arizona; and New York Commercial Bank, with more than 30 branches serving customers in Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn, Long Island, and Westchester County in New York.

Reflecting its growth through a series of acquisitions, the Community Bank operates through seven local divisions, each with a history of service and strength: Queens County Savings Bank in Queens; Roslyn Savings Bank on Long Island; Richmond County Savings Bank on Staten Island; Roosevelt Savings Bank in Brooklyn; Garden State Community Bank in New Jersey; Ohio Savings Bank in Ohio; and AmTrust Bank in Florida and Arizona. Similarly, the Commercial Bank operates 17 of its branches under the divisional name Atlantic Bank. Additional information about the Company and its bank subsidiaries is available at and

Copyright Business Wire 2010