Western Massachusetts Electric Company (WMECo) has again been recognized for its environmental and renewable energy leadership by the Environmental Business Council (EBC) of New England.

WMECo’s 2.3 MW Indian Orchard Solar Facility in Springfield received the James D.P. Farrell Brownfields Project of the Year Award in recognition for the redevelopment of the brownfield site into one of the largest solar energy facilities in the region. The award was jointly presented to WMECo, The City of Springfield and the Springfield Redevelopment Authority.

“The Indian Orchard facility is a testament to the power of partnership and the success that can be achieved when businesses, communities, and the state work together for the greater good,” said Peter Clarke, president and chief operating officer of WMECo.

The Indian Orchard facility features 8,200 solar panels on 12 acres of land that formerly housed a foundry. It joins WMECo’s 1.8 MW Silver Lake Solar facility in Pittsfield as one of the largest such facilities in the region.

“Through these large scale solar facilities, WMECo continues to demonstrate that renewable energy can be developed and delivered to our customers in a cost effective manner,” Clarke said.

This is the second year the EBC has recognized WMECo for its leadership in the region. Last year the organization presented WMECo with the John A.S. McGlennon Environmental-Energy Award for Corporate Leadership for the Silver Lake facility. WMECo’s solar facilities have also been recognized by the American Lung Association, the Solar Electric Power Association (SEPA) and the Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA).

Western Massachusetts Electric Company, a Northeast Utilities company (NYSE:NU), serves approximately 210,000 customers in 59 communities throughout western Massachusetts and is committed to the environment, economic development and the health of the communities it serves. For more information about WMECo, visit our website at www.wmeco.com . Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Copyright Business Wire 2010