Eleventh Annual Wiley Prize In Biomedical Sciences Awarded To Dr. Michael Sheetz, Dr. James Spudich, And Dr. Ronald Vale

Deborah E. Wiley, Chairman of The Wiley Foundation, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (NYSE: JWa & JWb), announced today that the eleventh annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences will be awarded to Dr. Michael Sheetz, a William R Kenan Jr. Professor at Columbia University; Dr. James Spudich, Stanford University, and Dr. Ronald Vale, University of California, San Francisco.

"The Wiley Prize is being awarded to Dr. Michael Sheetz, Dr. James Spudich, Stanford University, and Dr. Ronald Vale for explaining how cargo is moved by molecular motors along two different systems of tracks within cells," said Dr. Günter Blobel, Chairman of the awards jury for the Wiley Prize.

Many basic cellular functions depend on the directed movement of macromolecules, membranes or chromosomes from one place to another within the cell. The transport of this intracellular cargo is achieved by molecular motor proteins, such as myosin and kinesin, which provide force and movement through the conversion chemical energy (ATP) into mechanical energy. Molecular motor proteins move along scaffolds made of specific protein polymers (kinesin along microtubules and myosin along actin filaments) carrying their cargo to its proper place in the cell.

Understanding motor functions in cells is integral to understanding and treating deficiencies which lead to disease. For example, Kinesin deficiencies have been identified as cause for Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease and some kidney diseases.

Dr. Sheetz, Dr. Spudich, and Dr. Vale’s continuing work on the mechanisms behind cell transformation aim to answer questions such as: What is the extent of the involvement of these two pathways in a variety of phenomena from fertilization to brain function? How do collections of protein machines function together to generate complex behavior in living cells?

The Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences recognizes contributions that have opened new fields of research or have advanced novel concepts or their applications in a particular biomedical discipline. It honors a specific contribution or a series of contributions that demonstrate significant leadership and innovation. The award will be presented to Dr. Michael Sheetz, Dr. James Spudich, and Dr. Ronald Vale on April 6 at The Rockefeller University in New York City.