In the list of winners of The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards, the fourth bullet should read Marcella Gruver (sted Marcelle Gruver); the fourteenth bullet should read Sandra Reynolds, Mayfield Intermediate School (sted Sandra Reynolds, Mayfield Elementary School); and the sixteenth bullet should read Charles A. Orifici (sted Chuch Orifici).

The corrected release reads:


Today The Washington Post recognizes 21 teachers and 19 school principals for their creative and quality instruction and contribution to the improvement of education in the Washington metropolitan area. The Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards were established to spotlight principals who create exceptional educational environments for their students. The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards acknowledge teachers who work hard to ensure children receive a high-quality education.

The winners of The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards are:
  • Sandra Slaven, Jefferson-Houston Elementary School (Alexandria City)
  • Danny Imwold, Northeast High School (Anne Arundel County)
  • Matthew Tosiello, Randolph Elementary School (Arlington)
  • Marcella Gruver, Sunderland Elementary School (Calvert County)
  • Christine Dutrow, North Point High School (Charles County)
  • Christina Williams, The SEED Public Charter School (District of Columbia)
  • Giovanni Peña, Oyster-Adams Bilingual School (District of Columbia)
  • Jamie Sawatzky, Rocky Run Middle School (Fairfax County)
  • Suzanne Planas, George Mason High School (Falls Church City)
  • Susan Robertson, Greenville Elementary School (Fauquier County)
  • Brenda Tarquinio, Orchard Grove Elementary School (Frederick County)
  • Lori Speelman, Hollifield Station Elementary School (Howard County)
  • K. David Keller, Stone Bridge High School (Loudoun County)
  • Sandra Reynolds, Mayfield Intermediate School (Manassas City)
  • Kellie Jones, Cougar Elementary School (Manassas Park City )
  • Charles A. Orifici, Clarksburg High School (Montgomery County)
  • Brian Weeks, Greenbelt Elementary School (Prince George's County)
  • Maryann O'Brien, Forest Park High School (Prince William County)
  • Thomas Krawczewicz, DeMatha Catholic High School (Private School)
  • Michelle Hirtz, Lexington Park Elementary Schools (St. Mary's County)
  • David Vita, Anne E. Moncure Elementary School (Stafford County)

The winners of the Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards are:
  • Keisha Boggan, Francis C. Hammond Middle School (Alexandria City)
  • Sharon Stratton, Arundel High School (Anne Arundel County)
  • Mary Begley, Arlington Science Focus School (Arlington)
  • Karen Vogel, Sunderland Elementary School (Calvert County)
  • Amy DiSabatino, William B. Wade Elementary School (Charles County)
  • Chloe Marshall, Hope Community Public Charter School-Tolson Campus (District of Columbia)
  • Cheryl Warley, J.O. Wilson Elementary School (District of Columbia)
  • Maureen Marshall, Garfield Elementary School (Fairfax County)
  • Roger Lee, Liberty High School (Fauquier County)
  • Kathleen Schlappal, Tuscarora High School (Frederick County)
  • Michael Goins, Ellicott Mills Middle School (Howard County)
  • Timothy Flynn, Belmont Ridge Middle School (Loudoun County)
  • Rebecca Stone, R.C. Haydon Elementary (Manassas City)
  • Judy Brubaker, Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School (Montgomery County)
  • Judith White, Dodge Park Elementary School (Prince George's County)
  • Andrew Buchheit, Bristow Run Elementary School (Prince William County)
  • Sheila Martinez, Our Lady of Victory School (Private School)
  • Susie Fowler, Lexington Park Elementary School (St. Mary's County)
  • Thomas Nichols, North Stafford High School (Stafford County)

Teachers, students, former students, parents, administrators or the general public submitted nominations and each participating public school system made the final selection.

The Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards winners will be honored at a Post reception on April 28 and will be given the opportunity to participate in an off-site seminar focusing on media and crisis communication. The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards winners will be recognized at a Post ceremony on May 10 and will each receive $3,000. Attendance to both events are by invitation only. An ad will also run in The Washington Post with all the awardees' photos.

For more information about the 2011 recipients, please visit

About The Washington Post (

The Washington Post provides award-winning news and understanding about the politics, policies, personalities and institutions that make Washington, D.C. the world's seat of power, and is a critical tool and information source for those who call Washington, D.C. home. In digital form, The Washington Post combines its world-class journalism with the latest technology and tools, and encourages participation and customization across all platforms so readers can engage with The Washington Post anytime, anywhere. The Washington Post is owned by The Washington Post Company (NYSE: WPO), a diversified education and media company.

Copyright Business Wire 2010