NEW YORK, Jan. 31, 2011 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Mercer International (Nasdaq:MERC) (TSX:MRI) announced today that it intends to release its fourth quarter and full-year financial results for the period ended December 31, 2010 on Monday, February 14, 2011, after the close of the market. In conjunction with the release of its results, Mercer will host a conference call, which will be simultaneously broadcast live over the Internet. Jimmy S.H. Lee, Chairman and President, and David M. Gandossi, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Secretary, will host the call on:

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

10:00 AM ET 9:00 AM CT 8:00 AM MT 7:00 AM PT

Listeners can access the conference call live, or archived through March 15, 2011, over the Internet at: http://investor.shareholder.com/media/eventdetail.cfm?eventid=91422&CompanyID=MERC&e=1&mediaKey=1AE35D7DABC3ECD95E2779DA87354812 or through a link on the Company's News/Financial page at http://www.mercerint.com/s/NewsReleases.asp .   Please allow 15 minutes prior to the call to visit the sites and download and install any necessary audio software.

Mercer International Inc. is a global pulp manufacturing company. Mercer operates three modern NBSK pulp mills in Germany and Canada with a consolidated annual production capacity of approximately 1.5 million tonnes.

The Mercer International Inc. logo is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=5417
CONTACT: Jimmy S.H. Lee         Chairman & President         (604) 684-1099                  FD         Investors: Eric Boyriven, Alexandra Tramont         (212) 850-5600

company logo