BLUFFTON, Ind., July 27, 2010 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The board of directors of Franklin Electric Co., Inc. (Nasdaq:FELE) has elected Thomas R. VerHage to be a director of the company. He fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Howard B. Witt, who has served on the Board since 1994.

Mr. VerHage has been Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Donaldson Company, Inc. since March 2004. He was a Partner at Deloitte & Touche LLP from 2002 to 2004, and a Partner at Arthur Andersen, LLP from 1987 through 2002. Mr. VerHage is a director of Hutchinson Technology Incorporated, and is the Chair of its Audit Committee. He is also an advisory council member of Integrated Governance Solutions.

Franklin Electric is a global leader in the production and marketing of systems and components for the movement of water and automotive fuels. Recognized as a technical leader in its specialties, Franklin Electric serves customers around the world in residential, commercial, agricultural, industrial, municipal, and fueling applications.

The Franklin Electric Co., Inc. logo is available at
CONTACT:  Franklin Electric Co., Inc.          John J. Haines          260-824-2900

company logo