Skip to main content



) -- The U.S. Senate voted Thursday afternoon to extend the limit of debt that the government can incur until May 19, when it must vote again whether to raise the ceiling.

The measure, which had already passed the House, won by a 64-34 margin, with two senators abstaining.

Simply put, there were 34 senators -- 33 of them Republicans -- who did not agree that temporarily extending the debt limit was the best choice at this time. The decision not to delay a longer-term agreement on the amount of debt the government can accrue likely would have forced Congress to act swiftly to avoid a potential default, or allow for the country to hit the debt limit and struggle to pay its bills.

A potential default could have put investors at risk as it likely would have sent markets into turmoil.

Here are the senators who voted against the extension of the debt limit: Lamar Alexander (R., Tenn.), John Barrasso (R., Wy.), John Boozman (R., Ark.), Richard Burr (R., N.C.), Saxby Chambliss (R., Ga.), Dan Coats, (R., Ind.), Tom Coburn (R., Okla.), Bob Corker (R., Tenn.), John Cornyn (R., Texas), Mike Crapo (R., Idaho), Ted Cruz (R., Texas), Mike Enzi (R., Wy.), Deb Fischer (R., Neb.), Jeff Flake (R., Ariz.), Chuck Grassley (R., Iowa) and Orrin Hatch (R., Utah).

TheStreet Recommends

The rest were: Jim Inhofe (R., Okla.), Johnny Isakson (R., Ga.), Mike Johanns (R., Neb.), Rob Johnson (R., Wisc.), Mark Kirk (R., Ill.), Mike Lee (R., Utah), Joe Manchin (D., W.V.), Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R. Ky.), Jerry Moran (R., Kan.), Rand Paul (R., Ky.), Rob Portman (R., Ohio), Jim Risch (R., Idaho), Pat Roberts (R., Kan.), Marco Rubio (R., Fla.), Tim Scott (R., S.C.), Jeff Sessions (R., Ala.), Pat Toomey (R., Pa.) and David Vitter (R., La.).

Sen. John Kerry (D., Mass.) didn't vote as the Senate just confirmed his nomination as the next secretary of state. Patty Murray (D., Wash.) also didn't vote.

-- Written by Joe Deaux in New York.

>Contact by



Follow @JoeDeaux