Skip to main content

Note: This story has been updated to include expanded recall details.

Eggs under several nationwide brand names are being recalled due to a possible salmonella hazard.

After an undisclosed number of illnesses related to the eggs were reported, a recall announement was issued Monday by the Food and Drug Administration. Now, producer Wright County Egg is expanding the voluntary recall to include nine additional states.

The following states are involved in the expanded recall: California, Arizona, Missouri, Minnesota, Texas, Georgia, Washington, Oregon, Colorado, Nevada, Iowa, Illinois, Utah, Nebraska, Arkansas, Wisconsin and Oklahoma.

The recalled eggs were sold under several names: Lucerne, Albertson, Mountain Dairy, Ralph’s, Boomsma’s, Sunshine, Hillandale, Trafficanda, Farm Fresh, Shoreland, Lund, Dutch Farms and Kemps. The eggs come in cartons of six, 12 and 18, Wright County Egg tells the FDA.

Scroll to Continue

TheStreet Recommends

The eggs are distributed to wholesalers in 17 states and sold by those wholesalers nationwide, but the recall only affects eggs in shells (not other egg products that come in pint-sized cartons, for instance) with certain package code numbers which can be found here on the FDA's website.

As a precaution, Wright County Egg’s current inventory of eggs without those codes are being pasteurized in the event salmonella is present as well, the company says.

Consumers concerned that they may have bought these recalled eggs are advised not to eat them and are urged to return them to the store where they were purchased for a full refund. More information on egg safety can be found at, a site run by the United Egg Producers, an industry group.

According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, eggs are laid through the same passageway through which feces is excreted, as MainStreet explained in Egg to Plate: The Life of a Chicken.

—For the best rates on loans, bank accounts and credit cards, enter your ZIP code at