Skip to main content

Last week’s egg recall has been expanded to 380 million eggs, according to producer Wright County Eggs.

After initially issuing a voluntary recall on eggs produced on three of its five farms, Wright County Eggs has expanded the recall to all five of its farms. The expanded recall affects eggs shipped since May 16 to California, Arizona, Missouri, Minnesota, Texas, Georgia, Washington, Oregon, Colorado, Nevada, Iowa, Illinois, Utah, Nebraska, Arkansas, Wisconsin and Oklahoma. In response, the Food and Drug Administration has activated its emergency operations command center to investigate the infection.

Recalled eggs are believed to have infected hundreds of people with salmonella enteritidis, according to the Centers for Disease Control.

The eggs are sold under numerous brand names: Lucerne, Albertson, Mountain Dairy, Ralph’s, Boomsma’s, Sunshine, Hillandale, Trafficanda, Farm Fresh, Shoreland, Lund, Dutch Farms and Kemps. The recall includes all eggs stamped with Julian dates between 136 and 225 and plant numbers 1026, 1413 and 1946. (The four-digit plant numbers begin with “P-” and are followed by the three-digit date code.) Only shelled eggs are included in the recall.

Scroll to Continue

TheStreet Recommends

If you have eggs included in the recall, throw them out or return them to the retailer for a full refund. And if you believe you may have been sickened by affected eggs, contact a doctor immediately. Symptoms of salmonella infection include fever, diarrhea, nausea, vomiting and abdominal pain, and can be fatal in young children, the frail and elderly and people with weakened immune systems. 

For more information on the recall, visit

—For the best rates on loans, bank accounts and credit cards, enter your ZIP code at