Skip to main content



named five new members to the company's board, appointing Goran Ando, Gary Kennedy and Nancy Lurker as non-executive board members and Shane Cooke and Lars Ekman as executive board members.

Ando's career in the pharmaceutical industry spans almost three decades, including eight years of senior leadership at


, most recently as president, research and development, and executive vice president. Kennedy is group director of finance and enterprise technology at

Allied Irish Banks


Lurker has been CEO and president of ImpactRX since 2003. A 20-year veteran of the pharmaceutical industry, Lurker was most recently group vice president, global prescription business, at Pharmacia.

Cooke has been the chief financial officer for Elan since July 2001. Ekman is president, research and development, and head of the neurodegeneration business at Elan.

Brendan Boushel, John Groom and Richard Thornburgh retired as Elan board members last week.

Shares of Elan were up 11 cents to $8.02 in premarket trading.