Turning on the Nearby Friends feature allows for occasional notifications of when friends are nearby so that the user can get in touch with them and meet up. For instance, if you're headed to the movies, Nearby Friends will let them know if friends are nearby so they can all see the movie together or meet up afterward. It allows people to make last-minute plans to meet with a friend who happens to be in the same place they're headed to.
Another feature in the Nearby Friends feature is when a user sees a friend visiting a place where they've already been, that user can send the friend restaurant recommendations for that neighborhood.
Nearby Friends can show precise locations on a map for a set period of time chosen by the user - the city and neighborhood show up in the user's profile.
The optional feature will be available on both the iPhone and Android in the U.S. over the coming weeks.
It can be turned on and off at any time and allows the user to adjust setting for who can see if they're nearby; for example friends, close friends, or a specific friends list. The user and their friends both have to turn on Nearby Friends and choose to share with each other in order to see that the other person is nearby.
-- Written by Andrea Tse in New York
>Contact by Email