This account is pending registration confirmation. Please click on the link within the confirmation email previously sent you to complete registration.
Need a new registration confirmation email? Click here
TheStreet Open House

Techonomy 2012: Human Face Of Big Data, Data Science And Cyber Security Top Agenda

TUCSON, Ariz., Nov. 8, 2012 /PRNewswire/ --

News Summary:  

  • EMC Chairman and CEO Joe Tucci and array of EMC and other top executives will share their perspectives on the pivotal role technology is playing in business and social progress across an increasingly connected society.
  • Techonomy founder David Kirkpatrick's fireside chat with Joe Tucci titled "Intelligence, Leadership, and Command" will be streamed live here.  
  • Rick Smolan, President and CEO, Against All Odds Productions will present insights gained from the groundbreaking EMC-sponsored Human Face of Big Data project. The session will be streamed live here.   
  • RSA Chairman Art Coviello, in the session titled "Cyberwar: It's a MAD, MAD World"  will join others to explore today's increasingly complex and targeted cyber security threats as well as the realities and myths associated with a potential cyberwar. 
  • Media interested in attending the invitation-only event should contact sunok.pak@hkstrategies.com.

Full Story:

EMC Corporation (NYSE: EMC) today announced that Joe Tucci, EMC ® Chairman and CEO, and a cast of EMC and other top IT executives will be among the featured speakers at Techonomy 2012, November 11–13 at the Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain, Arizona.  EMC and an elite group of global IT leaders and business innovators will discuss some of the most transformative technology trends of the 21 st century, including Data Science and Cyber Security. The invitation-only conference attracts industry leaders from across the world to explore how technology is playing a pivotal role in business and social progress and changing the world as we know it.  The event's ultimate goal is to help innovators better understand how they can anticipate and harness the power of rapid tech-driven change versus being blindsided by it.

Featured presentations include:

  • STREAMED LIVE "The Human Face of Big Data" - Rick Smolan, President and CEO of Against All Odds Productions, will present insights gained from the groundbreaking EMC-sponsored Human Face of Big Data project which is widely heralded as the most engaging and captivating effort ever to tap into, and put a human face on, the societal impact of Big Data. The presentation will be streamed live here and roll into a related panel session moderated by Justin Fox, Harvard Business Review and titled "The Forest for the Trees: The Meanings of Data." ( Sunday, November 11 at 4:15 p.m. Mountain; 6:15 p.m. Eastern; 3:15 p.m. Pacific)
  • STREAMED LIVE "The Forest for the Trees: The Meanings of Data" - We live in a world of patterns. Now we're getting better at discerning them. As we see the big patterns in human behavior, and in the movement of money, products, jobs, weather, energy, disease, and even molecules and stars, a new era of understanding dawns. Can companies and governments draw proper conclusions fast enough? Where will this world of patterns discerned take us? Mr. Smolan will be joined by executives from QlikView, Factual and TIBCO. The presentation will be streamed live here ( Sunday, November 11 at 4:25 p.m. Mountain; 6:25 p.m. Eastern; 3:25 p.m. Pacific)
  • STREAMED LIVE "Intelligence, Leadership, and Command: A Conversation with Joe Tucci" -Techonomy founder David Kirkpatrick's on-stage "fireside chat" with Joe Tucci, EMC Chairman and CEO, will span insights gained from Mr. Tucci's more than 40-year career in IT. The must-see discussion will be streamed live here ( Monday, November 12 at 9:40 a.m. Mountain; 11:40 a.m. Eastern; 8:40 a.m. Pacific)
  • "Data Is the New Science" - Featuring EMC's Michael Howard, Annika Jimminez and Bill Schmarzo and moderated by Andrew McAfee, Principal Research Scientist at MIT Sloan School's Center for Digital Business, this session will explore key questions around the emerging trends of data analysis and data-based decision making, including: How is data science evolving? What is a data scientist? What does a better understanding of data make possible?  ( Sunday, November 11 at 1:00 p.m. Mountain; 3:00 p.m. Eastern; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • "Cyberwar: It's a MAD, MAD World" - Featuring RSA Chairman Art Coviello, this session will explore today's increasingly complex and targeted cyber security threats as well as the realities and myths associated with a potential cyberwar. ( Monday, November 12 at 1:30 p.m. Mountain; 3:30 p.m. Eastern; 12:30 p.m. Pacific)

Executive Quote:

Jeremy Burton, Executive Vice President, Product Operations and Marketing, EMC Corporation

"Techonomy has proven itself as the one of the year's most vibrant and relevant industry gatherings. This year promises to exceed expectations yet again, with a packed agenda of thought-provoking and engaging sessions on Big Data, data science and IT security. EMC is honored to play a leading role in helping shape this year's program with the Human Face of Big Data results and rich lineup of industry-shaping dialog."

1 of 2

Select the service that is right for you!

COMPARE ALL SERVICES
Action Alerts PLUS
Try it NOW

Jim Cramer and Stephanie Link actively manage a real portfolio and reveal their money management tactics while giving advanced notice before every trade.

Product Features:
  • $2.5+ million portfolio
  • Large-cap and dividend focus
  • Intraday trade alerts from Cramer
  • Weekly roundups
TheStreet Quant Ratings
Try it NOW
Only $49.95/yr

Access the tool that DOMINATES the Russell 2000 and the S&P 500.

Product Features:
  • Buy, hold, or sell recommendations for over 4,300 stocks
  • Unlimited research reports on your favorite stocks
  • A custom stock screener
  • Upgrade/downgrade alerts
Stocks Under $10
Try it NOW

David Peltier, uncovers low dollar stocks with extraordinary upside potential that are flying under Wall Street's radar.

Product Features:
  • Model portfolio
  • Stocks trading below $10
  • Intraday trade alerts
  • Weekly roundups
Dividend Stock Advisor
Try it NOW

Jim Cramer's protege, David Peltier, identifies the best of breed dividend stocks that will pay a reliable AND significant income stream.

Product Features:
  • Diversified model portfolio of dividend stocks
  • Alerts when market news affect the portfolio
  • Bi-weekly updates with exact steps to take - BUY, HOLD, SELL
Real Money Pro
Try it NOW

All of Real Money, plus 15 more of Wall Street's sharpest minds delivering actionable trading ideas, a comprehensive look at the market, and fundamental and technical analysis.

Product Features:
  • Real Money + Doug Kass Plus 15 more Wall Street Pros
  • Intraday commentary & news
  • Ultra-actionable trading ideas
Options Profits
Try it NOW

Our options trading pros provide daily market commentary and over 100 monthly option trading ideas and strategies to help you become a well-seasoned trader.

Product Features:
  • 100+ monthly options trading ideas
  • Actionable options commentary & news
  • Real-time trading community
  • Options TV
To begin commenting right away, you can log in below using your Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, OpenID or Yahoo login credentials. Alternatively, you can post a comment as a "guest" just by entering an email address. Your use of the commenting tool is subject to multiple terms of service/use and privacy policies - see here for more details.
Submit an article to us!
DOW 17,265.99 +109.14 0.64%
S&P 500 2,011.36 +9.79 0.49%
NASDAQ 4,593.4250 +31.2360 0.68%

Brokerage Partners

Rates from Bankrate.com

  • Mortgage
  • Credit Cards
  • Auto

Free Newsletters from TheStreet

My Subscriptions:

After the Bell

Before the Bell

Booyah! Newsletter

Midday Bell

TheStreet Top 10 Stories

Winners & Losers

Register for Newsletters
Top Rated Stocks Top Rated Funds Top Rated ETFs